Geoje Island South Korea here I come… well, almost!

For those of you have been wondering the status of my impending journey to the East, let me update you on the happenings of the last couple of weeks. After much confusion and debate, I agreed to contract with a school on Geoje (koje) Island. Although this was not my ideal location at first, I have done my research and decided the Island of Geoje may be the perfect haven for my work week, leaving the weekends for travel and play 🙂 An island of about 200,000 Geoje consists of 4 different cities, countless beaches and gorgeous mountains. 

 

A view from Geoje Island

A view from Geoje Island

Geoje Logo

Geoje Logo

Only a 50 minute ferry from the bustling city of Busan, Geoje will definitely provide me with a relaxing, laid back, smaller city feel during the week.

The school in which I signed my contract is NobuYoung. NobuYoung is a fairly new private (hawgon) institute located in Geoje City. I will be teaching kindergarten in the morning and elementary in the afternoon. With a work schedule that is roughly 10am-5pm, I will have plenty of time to explore the island and take in the Korean culture. 

 

NoBuYoung Institute

NoBuYoung Institute

classroom in NoBuYoung Institute

classroom in NoBuYoung Institute

NoBuYoung Institute

NoBuYoung Institute

Upon arrival to South Korea, my recruiter Sunju, and the owners of NoBuYoung will be there to greet me at the airport. Sunju has organized a “celebration” for my arrival in which, I believe, will consist of a traditional Korean dinner. I will also have a Korean cell phone and internet connection in my apartment waiting for me, which will be convenient  when I’m crying for home (just kidding mom). 

With one week left  in California, I have been completing last minute paperwork, packing, spending time with friends and family, and of course, eating all the food I will desperately miss over the next year. If I’m going to be eating spicy cabbage over the next year, I might as well get in all the pizza, mexican food, and cheeseburgers I can… 

Until next time, annyeonghi gyeseyo (goodbye)!

Leave a comment