Today was definitely a first…

0859537951

the actual book I am using in my classroom

I’ve been very thankful thus far in my teaching endeavors. I’ve avoided most crying by bribing them with candy, have tissues on hand for the nose pickers, and have even mastered the go-to round eyed funny face. Today was a first for me and I pray to God, a last as well. 

Each month we start a new book at NoBuYoung Academy. Last month “step 1″ or kindergarten, read, sang, and mastered,”Do you want to be my friend?” Fitting for my new kid on the block month in Geoje. I, unlike the mouse in the story had better luck from the beginning. 

Anyways, back to the point. With November no longer right around the corner and actually a reality, a new book begins! This month’s choice dealing with daily routine is “Here we go round the Mulberry Bush.”  The book uses the original rhyme and each page deals with an aspect of a child’s day.

Ex: This is the way we get out of bed, out of bed,out of bed  

 This is the way we get out of bed, on a cold and frosty morning. 

So after reading the book and having the moms (yes I have moms in some classes) and kids “dance” round the mulberry bush. I began to play the song and sing through the book with my class. 

I must have a phenomenal class that is not worth missing even 2 minutes of because once I got to page 3 of “this is the way we brush our teeth, brush our teeth, brush our teeth,” one of the moms grabs her son, a water bottle and does something  completely unnecessary. Next thing I know his pants were down and the water bottle is no longer empty. All the while, Mom doesnt break eye contact and is mouthing the words to “on a cold and frosty morning”. 

I did what any shocked, awkward, foreign, english teacher would do in this situation: nothing. I continued on with “this is the way we get to school, get to school, get to school”. When really I wanted to sing “This is the way we use the toilet, use the toilet, use the toilet. This is the way we use the toilet, on a cold and frosty morning.” 

Needless to say we didn’t finish the book today.

One thought on “Today was definitely a first…

  1. get used to bizarre occurences in the classroom. Keep focused on what you are doing and don’t react. Thats the way to keep them focused. Good job! xoxo Mom

Leave a Reply

